top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

REVIEW: Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher


Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Instant Root Cover

Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Instant Root Cover is a temporary fix for covering root regrowth or grey hair, so I was dead keen to try it out as my fab hairstylist, David Gillson, is currently in London; as co-owner of Issy's hair salon situated in the hip and trendy Elizabeth street, Belgravia, means his visits between SA and London are a week or two longer in between colour so thank heaves for temporary solutions!

I have tried out several other hair colour products and haven't been thrilled as the colour has been a dead giveaway or a general oily mess! So I was a little sceptical when asked if I would like to try out yet another root retoucher. I read fellow bloggers Candice-Lee of 'inmybag' and Leigh aka lipglossismylife on their verdict and saw they were both impressed wiht the root retouchers. We all have different shades of hair with Candice being a brunette, Leigh a blonde bombshell and me dark blonde, so I decided the dark blonde shade was for me.

Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Instant Root Cover for dark blonde

I applied it to freshly washed hair whilst silently observing my seriously crap regrowth (David where are you!?). The instructions reads, "shake the bottle for 30 seconds and sprays 5cm away from the hairline in a quick forward and back motion along the parting or said area."

I rubbed the colour with my fingertips into the hairline and was surprised how dark the actual shade is. I like to pretend I'm a blonde and not some dismal mouse colour, so with blonde thoughts of a blonde colour is what I had envisioned; however I can live with the colour being a little darker than normal, blending into the blonder bits rather than seeing grey and knowing it is a temporary fix is just fine!

Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Instant Root Cover

How crap is the regrowth? I tend to tie up my hair everyday but now I'll leave it loose if applying Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher.

I have thick hair and wash it only once or twice twice a week, depending on how much I have worked up a sweat in Pilates or if I have been swimming; (the latter is on hold until warmer months!) I am happy to say the colour didn't run down my face after a Pilates class nor on my towel or on our pristine white bedding!

Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Instant Root Cover

It makes the hairline a little darker than normal, but it's a bit better than having that hideous regrowth of grey hair, don't you think?

Formulated with micro-fine colour pigments to disperse evenly between the hairs gives instant coverage for grey or lighter coloured hair thanks to a precise spray applicator and the consistency is not too runny so it makes for easy rubbing in, (as I said earlier, I used my fingers for this) and the colour washes off your hands with a bit of hand wash).

Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Instant Root Cover comes in a variety of shades: blonde to darker blonde; lighter brown to darker brown, medium brown, black, cashmere red, in fact 6 shades in total.

You'll get about 25 applications from 120ml bottle and is priced at R99,99.

Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Instant Root Cover is available exclusively at Clicks.

Let me know if you've tried any of these and what are your thoughts?

On that note, I'll say happy Monday and I hope it's a good week up ahead!!

Cath

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page