top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

REVIEW: The Body Shop Shea Butter Body Lotion & Hair Mask


The Body Shop Shea Nourishing Body Lotion & Replenishing Hair Mask

Dry skin is something I battle with and don't get me started on dry hair! As a wannabe blonde I sprint to my incredible hair guru David Gillson every six weeks to maintain my highlights and have a treatment, yet still need to keep my tresses nourished in between visits. Ingredients that shout nourishing, moisturising and hydrating for face, hair and body are what I'm constantly on the look out for, so much delight when I received the latest drop from The Body Shop which included Shea Nourishing Body Lotion and Shea Butter Richly Replenishing Hair mask; here's what I thought....

What's so special about Shea Butter?

Shea butter originates from the shea tree in Africa, where it is dubbed the 'Tree of Life' because it can live up to 300 years and 'gives' life and livelihood to its community. Founder Dame Anita Roddick visited Ghana in the early nineties and came across the amazing properties of shea butter and the inspiring women who produce it. Five hundred women from Tungteiya Women's Shea Butter Association produce the rich shea butter using traditional handcraft techniques in a long 18-stage process handed down through generations.

The Body Shop Shea Nourishing Body Lotion

SHEA NOURISHING BODY LOTION Damn, I love this rich and creamy texture that sinks in easily and is super nourishing. I've only had it for the past fortnight slathering on generously as it's that good! BesideS shea butter there's glycerin, an effective humectant, where the loss of moisture is prevented, thereby retaining the skin's natural moisture as well as olive oil known for its nourishing properties.

ZAR135

The Body Shop Shea Butter Hair Mask

SHEA BUTTER RICHLY REPLENISHING HAIR MASK I love a good hair mask and this one's fab, in fact, I would buy it again and that's having only used it twice! After shampoo and conditioner, I apply the mask, leaving it in while busying myself around the house; I think the longer I leave a mask in my hair the better, but whether that's true, I'm not sure. I am not going to lie and say my hair looks salon-worthy (I leave that to Carlton's hair drying and styling, but it is manageable, feels soft and most of the frizz has disappeared.

ZAR180

The Body Shop Shea Nourishing Hair Mask

I've only been using these for the past two weeks but the simple straight forward ingredients plus no sulfates, no GMOs, 100% vegetarian, never tested on animals, contains Community Fair Trade ingredients and an okay price point, means you can't go wrong with The Body Shop products, agree?

That is it for today - shout if you have any questions or want..need to know anything!

Cath

263 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page