top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

BEAUTY EMPTIES MINI REVIEWS FOR JULY


INDOLA LEAVE IN/RINSE TREATMENT MASK, MORGAN TAYLOR DAILY ELIXIR, GIRLZ ONLY DRY SHAMPOO, EARTHSAP DEODORANT, REVLON LIPSTICK

I've rounded up a few of my favourite beauty products for an EMPTIES post, products that have sadly come to an end; they include EARTHSAP Natural Deodorant, INDOLA Color Leave-in/Rinse-Off Treatment Mask, Girlz Only Dry Shampoo, Revlon Ultra HD Gel Color Lipstick and MORGAN TAYLOR Daily Elixir Keratin Nail Treatment: here's what I thought:

INDOLA COLOR Leave-In/Rinse Off Treatment Mask

I'm a fan of trying just about any type of hair product that will help tame my unruly coloured hair and despite trying to use fewer products containing alcohol as it dries out my hair, it is not always easy to find alcohol-free products. Alcohol is added to hair products to thicken them, keep them from foaming and act as a preservative for longer lasting. So yes, INDOLA COLOR Leave-In/Rinse Off Treatment Mask contains alcohol, but it did more good than drying out my hair so I would buy this again. After shampooing and conditioning, I added about a tablespoon of product, (surprisingly you don't need much as it goes a long way) and combed it through towel dried hair. Once a fortnight I left it in and styled as it didn't leave my hair feeling heavy but soft and manageable. Every second wash I left it on for about ten minutes as a mask, before rinsing out. The smell makes me think of marshmallows.

GIRLZ ONLY Dry Shampoo Party Nights

Dry shampoo has changed my life! When I was young, we used baby powder to eke out one extra day of going without washing our hair (teenage hormones and playing sport saw me washing my hair nearly every day), but yay for dry shampoo, especially now when one has to consider water restrictions. I like this one as it doesn't leave residue and of course who doesn't love pink packaging! There's a couple in the GIRLZ ONLY range and they all work well.

Available from DISCHEM R79,95 for 400ml

REVLON ULTRA HD GEL LIPCOLOR

An angled tip for easy application, gliding on effortlessly with no 'pull', is lightweight and the colour pigment is fab! Sometimes I find wearing lipstick creates drier lips where I need to constantly re-apply, but a creamy formula of the gel colour has hyaluronic acid for extra moisture.I adored this Revlon shade, ‘DAWN', a sliver of sunshiny pink for days when I didn't want to wear a bright lippie.

R195 available from Foschini here

MORGAN TAYLOR Daily Keratin Nail Treatment

This lasted absolutely forever and I am sad it has come to an end as it was a superb treatment for nails. I’m normally a ‘gelish’ girl, but for the last couple of months have gone back to nail polish as it’s so cool to change colours, (I get bored of my gelish colour and land up applying another colour for a week before getting re-done). Nails get a bit of a beating wearing constant nail-polish and gelish, tending to split and flake so the keratin helps for stronger nails. I’m going to look for some other Morgan Taylor products as there's no shortage of nail treatments!

EARTHSAP DEODORANT Wild Rose & Vanilla

When I worked as a magazine Beauty Editor, testing and trying out products was exciting, being in the know of cutting edge technology beauty procedures and products; trying out beauty products can be quite daunting as there's no shortage and sticking to specific ingredients or airtight containers is what I'd like to be doing more of, but for now, as a blogger, I love testing out products that offer something exciting, has anti-aging ingredients, or is a local brand etc. One thing I am vigilant about is using only roll on organic deodorants, free from aluminium. With a light fresh natural fragrance, IS non-sticky & non- gunky deodorant that doesn’t leave a residue on my clothes, EARTHSAP Wild Rose & Vanilla Deodorant is worth buying again R59. Available from Faithful to nature shop here

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page