top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

REVIEW: ELEMIS SUPERFOOD RANGE


elemis superfood range

Superfoods have a multitude of health benefits that should be part of one's daily intake, so why not add them to your beauty routine too? Jampacked with super green formulas, oodles of botanical extracts, omega fatty acids, vitamins, anti-oxidants and Pre-Biotics, ELEMIS Superfood range is aimed at feeding the skin. Here are my thoughts:

I admit I did think Pre-Biotics was misspelt, but on investigation discovered its meaning. The difference between probiotics and prebiotics? The former is the 'live' bacteria helping maintain healthy bacteria in the intestines to support the immune defences and found naturally in foods like sauerkraut, miso, kombucha and yoghurt; (they can also be taken in supplement form), while Pre-Biotics are the 'non-living food' that reach the large intestine unaffected by digestion and needed to maintain our 'good' microflora, which helps to absorb food, improve skin barrier, immune system and our overall health.

I've long been a fan of this English brand suitable for all skin types and especially dehydrated skin which I experience as I work in an aircon studio for the best part of the day.

The ELEMIS Superfood range includes a facial wash, facial oil, day cream and a night cream:

elemis superfood range

ELEMIS SUPERFOOD FACIAL WASH

ELEMIS Cleansing Balm is one of my all time favourite cleansers so any other cleansers has a lot to live up to, but this squeeze tube makes for easy use so gets a heads up here. On the packaging it says "massage into dry skin every morning and evening with fingertips. Add warm water to create a lather, then rinse off", but I ended up using way more product than necessary, so I suggest add a little into your palm with warm water before applying to face. The combination of ingredients like 'Wheatgrass, Kale Extract, Nettle Extract, Broccoli and Pumpkin Seed and Avocado Oil all help to soften skin while cleansing and rejuvenation. It's not too great for removing makeup so I've been using a separate remover, ( Bioderma Sensibio H2O Micelle Water).This ELEMIS Superfood facial wash is great for leaving no residue and my skin doesn't feel tight or dry; I love the gentle fragrance as it reminds me of being in a spa. R550

ELEMIS SUPERFOOD FACIAL OIL

Face oils are one of my favourite beauty products as it feels like instant nourishment for dry skin and as I read this won Vogue Beauty Award 2018 for Natural Phenomenon in SkinCare, I was keen to try it out for myself and agree, it is amazing! With its potent combination of botanical extracts, antioxidants and oils, it nourishes skin and helps to retain water. A list of ingredients (that sounds like I'm conjuring up a salad dressing) includes Broccoli Seed Oil, Macadamia Oil, Cucumber Oil, Daikon Radish Oil, Flax Seed Oil, Poppy Seed Oil and Rosehip Seed Oil. I love the feeling of a heavenly and luxurious oil that is non-sticky and sinks in easily - my only gripe is that I wish it came in a bigger bottle! R1050

ELEMIS SUPERFOOD DAY CREAM

The day cream texture is lightweight, more like a lotion, but absolutely divine as it sinks in super quickly. It's packed with Supergreen Complex Ingredients including Goji Berry, Broccoli Seed, Ginger Ferment, Matcha Tea, Daikon Radish, Green Mandarin, Cucumber Seed. Another key ingredient is Lactobionic Acid, needed to brighten and smooth the complexion. I rather like the slight 'green' clean smell of this cream which makes me think I'm being super healthy in mind and body! It doesn't contain an SPF so I add one daily; (at the moment I'm using Eucerin Sun Gel-Creme Dry Touch SPF50. R920

ELEMIS SUPERFOOD NIGHT CREAM

Now this is a lovely thick night cream which feels like its feeding my skin, hydrating and repairing while I am sleeping, thanks to ingredients that include a Supergrain complex of Barley, Chia Seed, Quinoa, Black Seed, Flax Seed and Rice Bran. It also includes Sweet Almond Milk, a Pre-Biotic concentrate and moisturising lipids for hydration and replenishment. One wakes up with plumper looking skin = love!

R1010

elemis superfood range

A quick synopsis of the ELEMIS SUPERFOOD range:

*Suitable for Vegans

*No Parabens *no Sulfates *Contains Botanical Extracts *Low PH *Day & Night Cream come in hygienic airless pump packaging

*Cruelty-free

Let me know if you have tried any of these out? I'm heading on a road trip this week so am taking these with me as they are non-spill, (except for the face oil which I'll pack separately!) I'd love to use this range again as they are a perfect match for my skin!

Happy week

cath

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page