top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

REVIEW: NEUTROGENA HYDRO BOOST NEW ADDITIONS


Neutrogena Hydro Boost exfoliator, city shield hydrating moisturiser & eye-awakening gel-cream

On most days I take the train into the city as I am trying to leave as small a carbon footprint as possible; yes, public transport has its ups and downs with delays and cancellations, but the majority of the time I love the buzz and feeling of being part of a community and of course there's time to catch up on reading, podcasts and social media. Having a hectic work schedule leaves little time to spend pampering myself during the week, so I'm always looking for no fuss, easy to use beauty products that deliver great results. Neutrogena® latest additions to the HYDRO BOOST range is specifically designed to help city girls boost their skin defences against the stresses of everyday life and the environment which takes its toll on skin.

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Exfoliator, Eye-Awakening Gel-Cream & City Shield Hydrating Lotion SPF25

A few months back we attended Neutrogena®, launch held on the rooftop of Radisson RED Hotel, in Silo Square. With a magnificent view of Cape Town harbour and Table Mountain in the background, we were treated to the most delish food with copious amounts of cappuccinos (which always makes me happy), before an informative talk on how the environment affects your skin and a breakdown on the latest additions to Neutrogena® HYDRO BOOST range.

The three products joining the HYDRO BOOST range are: Neutrogena Hydro Boost Exfoliator Smoothing Gel, Neutrogena Hydro Boost City Shield Hydrating Lotion SPF25 and Neutrogena Hydro Boost Eye-Awakening Gel-Cream.The range is designed to boost water levels and strengthen moisture barrier to keep skin supple. I was particularly chuffed to see the moisturiser carries a broad spectrum photo stable SPF25 to shield against UVA and UVB rays. Even for those of us who do not live in the city, we are still exposed to aggressors that have a negative effect on our skin like car exhausts, smoke, stress and sun exposure which all contribute to the generation of free radicals which harm our skin in a major way.

baxter boston terrier /neutrogena launch radisson red hotel

The mascot for Radisson RED is Baxter the Boston Terrier; the hotel is pet friendly and you can check in with your pooch (8kg and under) - cool huh!

Nomzamo Mbatha local face of Neutrogena

It's always great to see Neutrogena®, local Brand Ambassador Nomzamo Mbatha as she is just so bubbly and upbeat! Look how fab she is in her polka dot dress!

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Exfoliator, Eye-Awakening Gel-Cream & City Shield Hydrating Lotion SPF25

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Exfoliator Smoothing Gel I'm wary of exfoliants with granules, but this is a really gentle exfoliator with naturally derived microbeads, so no nasty plastic beads getting sloshed down the drain. With hydrating hyaluronic acid and the combination of Neutrogena cleansing technology this cleanses and moisturises at the same time, and doesn't dry out my skin or make it feel "taut". R99,95

Neutrogena Hydro Boost City Shield Hydrating Lotion SPF25

I've used Neutrogena® consistently over the years as they are a reliable brand delivering real results, so I'm chuffed as I said earlier, that they have included an SPF with a moisturiser. I find it is enough protection if I'm popping out to grab a bite, but if spending more time outdoors, I'd add a higher SPF50. (I wish I had been vigilant about suncream in my early years, but I refused to listen to my mother ranting on about the harsh midday sun, because I wanted to look "healthy" and tanned and now I see tell-tale signs of pigmentation and dark spots coming through). Nevertheless, back to this lightweight texture I love, as it sinks in easily, is non-greasy, and a great canvas before applying makeup.

The flat tube looks small, but it is actually the same size as a tub of 50ml moisturiser, and a little goes a long way. It's the perfect size and shape to pop into a gym bag or for travelling as it takes up less space, won't break and has a no-nonsense flip lid. R139,95

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Eye-Awakening Gel-Cream A refreshing gel formula designed for the eye area and it doesn't irritate my sensitive eyes. It also contains Neutrogena's unique Hyaluronic Gel Matrix for an intense shot of hydration which lasts for the entire day. It is perfect for application under makeup too and helps with dark rings and circles around the eye area. R139,95

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Exfoliator, Eye-Awakening Gel-Cream & City Shield Hydrating Lotion SPF25

Available at selected Clicks, Dis-Chem, Foschini & pharmacies nationwide.

*This post was done as a sponsored collaboration with Neutrogena®.

Let me know if you've tried out any of these newbies? I think the price points are good, as they are all under R140; not too shabby!

Cath

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page