top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

BEAUTY EMPTIES Mini Reviews


MAY BEAUTY EMPTIES CATHI TREVOR

I decided to jump on the bandwagon of "empties" posts where I'll be giving a short review of a product or two, (I chose five as it's my first one), and whether they're worth purchasing again. I'm quick to put a product aside if it doesn't live up by doing it's job, moving swiftly on to another product, before recycling or trashing. There are others I finish completely, hanging on to them as reminders of what I want to buy again. I'm not embarressed to admit cutting up a tube or two when they're near empty, as there's nothing more satisfying than scooping out the very last drop! So here's my pick:

MAY BEAUTY EMPTIES CATHI TREVOR

Kiehl's Midnight Recovery Concentrate

Face oils are my bestest products as they absorb easily, smell delish and really help with dry, dehydrated skin. Kiehl's Midnight Recovery Concentrate has been one I've used on numerous occasions as I love that the ingredients are almost 100% naturally derived, paraben-free and comes in a recyclable glass bottle. The dropper dispenser makes for easy use where one drop covers your entire face. It's meant as a night time concentrate, but I carry it in my bag to keep hydrated daily in an aircon environment. Squalane, a signature key ingredient in Kiehl's, absorbs & restores skins natural moisture balance; lavender essential oil soothes inflamed and irritated skin and helps it appear brighter and radiant; evening primrose oil increases hydration and general wellbeing of skin. A bottle lasts forever as a drop goes a long way so yes, I shall continue to buy it (I use my Edgars account purely for beauty buys). R799

LULU & MARULA Naartjie Lip Balm A friend gave this to me as part of a goodie bag for my birthday a couple of months ago and I love the rich, creamy, buttery consistency with a citrusy smell. Packed with 100% pure active natural ingredients like Shea butter, marula, beeswax and Vitamin C and naartjie essential oils, with no preservatives or additives. It's a SA brand so gets a big heads up from me. Available from one of my favourite shops that stock everything locally made, Fabricate or online here.

R70

Sh'Zen Thermal Relief for Feet with Elemi and Arnica

I've used Sh'Zen products for ages, my one favourite being the Energising cream for heavy legs, with soothing ingredients to ease tired aching legs, something I'm prone to as am on my feet all day. Come wintertime I also suffer cramps, which is really crappie as I have to get out of bed and hop on a leg to ease the pain. This cream stimulates circulation and so far has kept cramps at bay! It's fantastic as it gives a cooling and warming sensation, thanks to ingredients like Menthol, Cinnamon, Arnica which is a natural anti-inflammatory. Capsicum increases circulation and Elemi that works as a natural anaesthetic. I'll be buying this again! Shop here

R199

Johnson’s Body Care Vita Rich Soothing Body Wash with Rose Water I way prefer body washes to soaps, as they are easy to apply on sponges or body loofahs and this particular Johnson's Body Care Vita Rich range is for soothing irritated skin. Rose water is a versatile ingredient, balancing Ph, is anti-inflammatory and has cooling properties. I love the gentle rosy smell and the price point is a goodie:

250ml R27,99 shop here

Lancôme Teint Idole Cushion Compact Foundation Refill N° 03

This is one of my all-time favourite foundations and kudos to buying refills which cuts down on the price considerably. (R390 for refill, vs R530 for original purchase). I've refilled it once already and despite my compact looking a little worse for wear, it still does the job. I've replaced the sponge and am using a Cala Blending sponge (R74,95) I bought at Dischem so I can wash it after a couple of uses. The reason I keep going back to this particular foundation is because the consistency is lightweight on my skin offering enough coverage. If I'm wanting it to last longer, then I use a primer before hand, but generally I blend it on in the morning and it lasts for most of the day and although I'm pale, I prefer N° 03, which adds a bit of colour to my otherwise pale complexion.

That 's it for my beauty empties - I'll be doing one at the end of June again.

Happy Tuesday!

Cath

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page