top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

REVIEW: APRIL BEAUTY FAVOURITES


I rounded up a few of my favourite products I tried out over the last month, from a luscious new lip balm to a firm favourite face mask, I've got you covered!

ALIEN MUGLER BEAUTIFYING BODY LOTION

A sumptuous body lotion fragranced with Alien's signature scent enveloping you in wafts of jasmin sambac, cashmeran wood and white amber notes (R775 for 200ml)

SISLEY BLACK ROSE FACE MASK

A decidedly decadent and luxurious leave on mask I adore as skin looks supple, radiant and ready for a new day! Also fabulous to apply before embarking on a flight to keep skin hydrated and fresh.

ELIZABETH ARDEN STANDING OVATION MASCARA

Let’s give a round of applause for Elizabeth Arden’s Standing Ovation Mascara! As part of Elizabeth Arden Drama Defined Colour Collection, you can expect nothing less than bigger and bolder lashes. Mascara is something I rarely go without as I find it creates a vast improvement between looking pale and washed out to looking passable. The brush size and shape is great for easy application. I coat the entire top lashes before applying a second coat where the focus is on the middle to outer edge of lashes to help enlarge eyes. (R370) shop here

CLARINS INSTANT LIGHT NATURAL LIP BALM PERFECTOR

I stick to warm darker lipsticks during winter and this plum burgundy shade is brilliant to add some life to my pale pallor!

Shade Plum 08 (R310) shop here

DAVINES CIRCLE CHRONICLES HAIR MASKS

Celeb hairstylist David Gillson recommended these hair masks and I thought they all worked well for my hair. Each sachet contains 1-3 applications, depending on hair length & thickness; (I got out two applications per sachet as my hair is thick).

Not only are these travel friendly but all Davines products are free from parabens and sulphates and are vegan friendly.

(from left to right):

1. The Spotlight Circle revives dull hair, giving extra shine, polishes and smooths

2. The Wake-Up Circle contains purple clay to detoxify and hydrate whilst Rhodiolo extract restores stressed hair

3. The Quick-Fix Circle - Thanks to hyaluronic acid and red clay, impurities are removed and hair is hydrated and manageable

4. The Purity Circle removes impurities from pollution and can be used pre-shampoo and post- shampoo

(R210) per sachet and available at Carlton Hair Salons countrywide

COWSHED COW PAT moisturising hand cream I'm thrilled COWSHED brand is now available in South Africa, as the humorous names like 'horny cow', 'lazy cow', 'gorgeous cow' and more, makes gifting fun for the giver as well as the recipient. Cowshed can be found at MELISSAS and online www.beautifulage.co.za From 5 core ranges to choose from we say how “udderly fabulous!”

CRABTREE & EVELYN Lavender & espresso calming body lotion

Iconic brand CRABTREE & EVELYN have added a modern touch by combining ingredients like robust espresso to calming lavender to treat your senses and balance your wellbeing. Crabtree & Evelyn Lavender & Espresso Calming Body Lotion is rich in aromatic lavender, patchouli, moringa, rosehip oil to nourish your body and as I'm a fan of lavender oil to help me fall asleep, (I add a drop or two nightly to my pillow) and of course coffee is my drinks choice, this one was made for me!

R500 shop here

And that's it for today (I'm browsing COWSHED online to get some last minute Mothers Day ideas - I love their packaging!)

Cath

l

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page