top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

REVIEW: Dermalogica Calm Water Gel & Barrier Defense Booster


Dermalogica cavendish square

I popped into Dermalogica in Cavendish Square last week to experience a facial using the latest additions to the Ultra Calming range: Dermalogica Calm Water Gel & Dermalogica Barrier Defense Booster and my skin looks happy indeed!

Dermalogica stores offer a free face mapping analysis service, dividing your face into 14 zones to interpret your skin concerns. My skin is going through a sensitive spell with the changing of weather and in dire need of hydration. Zara, my therapist, assured me I'd definitely feel and see a difference after incorporating these two newbies into my facial.

dermalogica barrier defense booster & dermalogica calm water gel

Dermalogica Ultra Calming Calm Water Gel was created to hydrate and protect dry and sensitive skin without harming or irritation. As Dermalogica products are plant-based, gluten and paraben free with no artificial colours or fragrances it already sits high on my agenda and in fact when buying products I like to read the ingredient list and question: "Are they environmentally friendly, do they give back to communities, are they cruelty-free, paraben free etc..". As Dermalogica ticks a lot of boxes, ( read here about FITE), the price tag seems justifiable. So, back to the products in hand!

dermalogica calm water gel

The gel-like consistency of Dermalogica Ultra Calming Calm Water Gel is a real light, refreshing and non-drying moisturiser that feels cool on application. Ingredients include liquorice root, an anti-inflammatory which deals with redness and brightening of skin. Apple extract, rich in AHA's gently exfoliates to rid dead skin cells, Cactus pear extract, rich in potent antioxidants soothes and calms sensitive skin, and hyaluronic acid for mega moisture. I've been using the gel in the morning after using my Elemis Pro-Collagen Cleansing balm (read here on my thoughts on the balm), at night and the two work well together with no break outs occurring. A really great moisturiser to add to your routine! R890

dermalogica barrier defense booster

Photographs: Ian Reeves Photographer

Dermalogica Barrier Defense Booster, shop here is a concentrated oil specifically for sensitive skin to help nourish, soothe and balance skin. Key ingredients include squalane to lock in moisture and oat oil known to soothe skin. If you're suffering from sensitive skin I recommend the AVEENO range available at Clicks shop here. I've been suffering from chronic itchy skin of late and find Aveeno Dermexa Emollient Body Wash alleviates it pronto! I wrote an article on Aveeno a few months back, read here. Other ingredients in Dermalogica booster include cranberry, (which also helps prevent clogging of pores), meadowfoam, kiwi, walnut and sunflower extracts, all potent antioxidants and high in fatty acids needed for nourishing and soothing skin. I really like facial oils for their added benefits and only a drop or two is needed to add to my moisturser Dermalogica Ultra Calming Calm Water Gel so I reckon the bottle should last a good couple of months. R1220

Do you use any Dermalogica products and want to share your thoughts?

Happy Monday

Cath

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page