top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

(REVIEW): THREE SPF50 SUNCREAMS


PAYOT SPF50; AVENE SPF50; NIVEA PROTECT & MOISTURISE SPF50

Despite my mother's warning of how bad too much sun exposure was for my skin, I went out of my way to lie in the sun coated in baby oil or one of the many sun oils available on the market back then. The mere whiff of coconut oil takes me back to my teen years of soaking up the sun pretending to live the all American dream of sun kissed (sunburnt!) skin, blonde hair and bikini bodies; the darker our tan, the cooler we were, or thought we were. Rarely did anyone mention cancer, let alone skin cancer.

Admittedly I still love the feeling of sun on my skin, but nowadays I vigilantly apply an SPF50 like the ones I am reviewing on today's post: PAYOT Les Solaires Sun Sensi Creme Visage, NIVEA SUN Protect & Moisturise SPF50 and EAU THERMALE AVENE SPF 50; here's what I thought:

PAYOT SPF50; AVENE SPF50; NIVEA PROTECT & MOISTURISE SPF50

PAYOT LES SOLAIRES SUN SENSI SPF50

As South Africa has the second highest UV concentration in the world, PAYOT understands that high SPF factors is what we are wanting. PAYOT Les Solaires Sun Sensi ticks all the boxes for being a high factor, non-greasy & easily absorbed, a soothing light consistency and for all skin types. Sometimes if I'm super hot and sweaty, suncream runs into my sensitive eyes, but I'm happy to say that this suncream doesn't bother my eyes. PAYOT Les Solaires Sun Sensi Creme Visage range comes in SPF30 and SPF 50+ and is available from DISCHEM

(R369)

NIVEA PROTECT & MOISTURISE Moisturising Sun Spray SPF50 family size spray bottle is a 300 ml for (R212,95), not too shabby a price point, so it's good to get into the habit of spraying liberally all over you and your family! NIVEA PROTECT & MOISTURISE SPF50 is water resistant, non-sticky, easily absorbed and if you hurry up today is the last day at Clicks to Buy any 3 NIVEA sun products with the cheapest one for free!

(R212.95) for 300ml

I'm a huge fan of AVENE range as the thermal water has soothing and healing properties read here . AVENE EAU THERMALE SPF50 is paraben free, non irritant, non sticky, fragrance-free and leaves no white residue and suitable for sensitive & combination skin. The pump like action gives you a good amount needed for your entire face.

(R229,95)

I read an article here on the amounts of eyecream/serum/cream you should be apply daily; did you know you should use a tablespoon of suncream on your face alone and a shot glass of suncream on your body!

So despite January coming to a close, we still have a few months of summer living, so keep well covered and opt for an SPF50 or more...always!

HAPPY DAY!

Cath

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page