top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

FIRM FAVOURITES: My beauty must-haves


elizabeth arden, skinceuticals, caribbean tan, chanel

FOUR OF THE BEST

Despite trying out a variety of cosmetics and beauty products on a daily basis, there are a few I go back to regularly as they are, quite simply, my must haves! I decided on a huge clean up this weekend and I'm embarrassed by the number of products I have accumulated, not just on my bathroom shelf(s), but in the bedroom too! Products I have tried and tested and loved, scraping every last drop out to some that don't quite do what I had hoped they would, but hung on to just in case! Whilst sorting and decluttering, I realised there are products I absolutely love, buying them time and again; if they're good enough for me, then maybe you too would like to try them! There are heaps more, but thought these four were worth a first mention:

SkinCeuticals Physical Eye UV Defense SPF50

Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Intensive Lip Repair Balm

Caribbean Tan Cinnamon & Coconut Skin Smoothing Exfoliator

Chanel Le Vernis Rouge Noir

EYE WONDER

SkinCeuticals Physical Eye UV Defense SPF50 is an amazing product I came across as one of the judges for Marie Claire Prix de Excellence awards two years ago. I cannot remember if it won an award in the skincare category, but it got a huge thumbs up from me! Not only is it ophthalmologist-tested, but contains a sunscreen suitable for the entire eye area and because of its non-migrating formula is safe to use right up to the waterline, without shifting or irritating sensitive eyes. When I'm tired, my eyes tend to look 'bruised' on the outer side and this tinted eye cream covers these aswell as the inevitable dark circles I'm sometimes prone to! Ceramides nourish the thin delicate eye area while creating a smooth canvas before applying makeup. I always feel bright eyed and ready for the day once I have applied this eye wonder!

SkinCeuticals Physical Eye UV Defense SPF50 R475 Available from www.skinmiles.com, www.dermastore.com and selected spas and salons countrywide

MULTI PURPOSE

Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Intensive Lip Repair Balm is my all time favourite multi purpose product! For as long as I can remember I have always carried Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Skin Protectant Cream in my bag as my 'go to' for cuts, scrapes, minor burns, dry skin, cuticle softening, lip balm and even sunburn. My son sometimes gets a neck rash from his wetsuit after surfing and this soothes and clears the rash within a day or two. I even applied it to my dog's 'weepy' eyes and within a fortnight his eyes were back to normal. When Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Intensive Lip Repair Balm came out a few years ago I added it to my bag as my 'new' go-to multi purpose item; just as good as the protectant cream, but in a tub. A pot costs R245, lasting for ages as you only need apply a teensy bit.

RUB-A-DUB-SCRUB

I am swayed by anything coconut and the combination of cinnamon is just heavenly in Caribbean Tan Cinnamon & Coconut Skin Smoothing Exfoliator. (I actually have these two ingredients with my morning ritual of coffee: I consume a teaspoon of coconut and add a sprinkling of cinnamon in my coffee, so I guess if it's good to ingest it's also good for the skin!) The grainy consistency of Caribbean Tan Cinnamon & Coconut Skin Smoothing Exfoliator is perfect for a real great scrubbing down! It actually goes hand in hand with Caribbean Tan's self tans as a good exfoliation before applying your self tan. As a precautionary measure, be extra careful when in the shower as I find the scrub makes for a slightly slippery floor! But oh, your skin feels so damn smooth, soft and delish smelling and the price point is real value. LOVE!

Caribbean Tan Cinnamon & Coconut Skin Smoothing Exfoliator R49,95 for a 450ml tub

NAIL IT

Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction wearing Chanel Noir /Vamp Nail Polish

Chanel Le Vernis Rouge Noir nail polish is my all time favourite shade. Remember Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction who pulled the whole dark haired bob and red nails look perfectly for her character Miss Mia Wallace? When "Pulp Fiction" was released in the UK a three month waiting list arrived along with it for Chanel Le Vernis Rouge Noir nail polish! Yip, it's been around for a good twenty odd years! Chanel’s original nail colour (later re-named ‘Vamp’) was created to be the exact colour of dried blood and in its first year alone sales grew to $1 million dollars. I love painting my nails in blues, greens, grays, in fact, most shades but this is my favourite for winter and summer, as it just makes me feel cool and grownup!

Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction wearing Chanel Noir Rouge or Vamp nail polish

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page