top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

COLLABORATION BETWEEN LOU HARVEY & MR PRICE HOME


Gifting from ZAR19,99 - 69,99

I've long been a fan Lou Harvey bags and accessories made in durable vibrant fabrics, so was delighted to spy her distinctive designs on scented candles and more when I popped into Mr Price Home; I caught up with local designer and entrepreneur Lou Harvey to find out what makes her tick and more about the collaboration:

LOU HARVEY

Lou Harvey

How did the collaboration between you and Mr Price Home come about and is it for a limited time only?

I was really excited to collaborate with another homegrown Durban brand. It was really something different from what I normally create and was certainly an opportunity for me to have a creative outlet on items I wouldn’t normally manufacture. It's so exhilarating to see my designs on functional items that now, through Mr Price Home will reach a wider audience.

I love that it's a local brand and a focus on local production so it's in line with our philosophy– all local production, from the fabrics to the employees and production process.

LOU HARVEY COLLECTION & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

It was wonderful working with their creative and dynamic team who constantly think out of the box and identify new opportunities for their brand.

I also admire their strong appreciation for local designers and willing to give them a platform to showcase their designs on a mass scale.

It is for a limited time only or while stocks last.

LOU HARVEY COLLECTION & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

duvet set ZAR559,99 - 759,99

Where does your inspiration come from

I take inspiration from a variety of sources; elements of nature, architecture, exotic destinations like Morocco and of course our beautiful local landscape. I love botanicals and motifs that pay homage to nature, as well as bold floral prints. I am also an obsessive 'pinner' and can get completely lost on Pinterest for hours on end.

lou harvey & mr price home collaboration

Ottoman ZAR999,99

What does a normal day involve

I go to gym really early so that is out of the way and not cutting into family time. Some mornings I love to walk along the promenade in Umhlanga. I then have breakfast with my Alec, (Izzy is a boarder) and then drop him at school. It’s then off to the factory to check production and designs; I'm always playing with new product ideas. We recently moved the factory to be closer to home, which means I can pop in and out, run errands on the way, which has honestly changed my life. I also have an amazing team who work closely with me and ensure that everything runs smoothly.

LOU HARVEY

Lou Harvey

I’m a real early bird and love to be in my pj’s by 6pm, not terribly glam but perfect for me and works for our little family. During the evening I catch up on mails and respond to all my FB queries and then enjoy getting caught up in a good book or the latest series or movie on Netflix!

LOU HARVEY COLLECTION & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

A highlight in your career

So many amazing milestones that I am grateful for:

  • Opening my first store

  • Expanding our international footprint and creating an international brand with suppliers in Dubai, Australia, Singapore and the US – also recent pop ups in Dubai, New York and Brazil

  • Launching the online store

  • Opening a bigger factory space

  • Launching my wallpaper collection and now the Mr Price Home CreativeCollab

LOU HARVEY COLLECTION & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

scented sachets ZAR59,99

How do you switch off

I don’t switch off! But going to gym does help me to switch off… a little. I also love a spoil at the Oyster Box Spa

LOU HARVEY COLLECTION & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

four side plates ZAR159,99; tea towel ZAR29,99

Mantra for life

There’s no such thing as a free lunch!

Do you have a favourite Lou Harvey bag, or change up regularly

The Pack Bag is my all-time favourite. No girl can do without at least one “carry-all” bag and the Pack Bag is top of the list for busy women. It’s perfect for any occasion, day-to-day and weekend trips away. Every family member should own one as they also fit perfectly into the boot of the car!

LOU HARVEY & MR PRICE HO0ME COLLABORATION

two mugs ZAR69,99

Which living person do you most admire

Russel Brand – he is very enlightened!

LOU HARVEY COLLECTION & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

Lou Harvey Dobby Beach Blanket ZAR299.99

Your greatest extravagance

Zimmerman! The world’s best clothing brand in the world!

Greatest regret ( if any)

I recently met the man of my dreams and I certainly regret not meeting him sooner!

LOU HARVEY & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

tissue paper ZAR19,99 each

What talent would you most like to have

I would love to be able to write; I have grandeurs of writing a novel one day!

LOU HARVEY & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

Diffuser ZAR159,99

Your favourite journey/ travel destination

I love the Far East. I would also love to visit Buenos Aires for their colonial architecture and landmark buildings of this Argentine capital city and expect it to be vibrant and colourful….and who doesn’t love to tango the night away!

LOU HARVEY COLLECTION & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

selection of scattered cushions

Anything on your bucket list

The Orient Express!

Any future exciting things to look out for

Always! Watch this space!

LOU HARVEY  & MR PRICE HOME COLLABORATION

The collection is available through selected MRP home stores nationwide, as well as online.

Follow LOU HARVEY:

That's it for today - I hope it's a damn fine Thursday for you all!

Cath

47 views0 comments
bottom of page