top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

THE ENVY: Jewellery collection


Bella wears Oblong resin earrings R350

On Muizenberg Main Road you'll find SOBEIT STUDIO , crammed full of amazing things from lighting, to furniture to fabulous decor pieces; the studio's desire: "to make the ordinary obsolete", worth another blogpost, but in the meantime, I spied this lovely jewellery range "THE ENVY", created by Liezle Van Vuuren. Her gorgeous daugher Bella, modelled these lovelies for me; read more on Liezle's collection:

"Holy bejeweled desire comes in the shape of wholly original bangles, necklaces, pendants and rings" - THE ENVY

How long you’ve been creating, what did you do beforehand and why did you go into Jewellery designing?:

I've been creating for 21 years! I studied at the Design Academy of Fashion before dabbling around in the fashion industry working on a children's range. My husband Bartél, started making moulds to use when working with resin, and one day made a mould of a bangle and the rest is history! As I’ve always been jewellery obsessed, I decided to follow my passion and started creating jewellery as a side line while doing an office job. In 2011 we officially launched our brand Sobeit Studio at the Design Indaba and now do jewellery designing full time.

Resin Hoop Earrings R350

Self taught or studied Jewellery design?

I’m completely self taught. Bartel is an expert on resin so I’ve learned a lot from him. I’ve done loads of book research to online jewellery manufacturing communities. I am also very lucky to have a jeweller friend that freely gives me his time and advise whenever I ask him.

How would you describe your style?

This is always such a hard thing for me to answer but bright and bold hold the most appeal; I prefer creating big pieces and as I always like to say, “ I don’t do Itsy - Bitsy!”

What inspires you?

The materials I work with and designing and creating items that I would wear myself.

What mediums do you prefer working with?

I work with silver, brass and semi-precious stones and resin, which I find is such a versatile medium. I started off by casting resin into moulds and currently working on new pieces using a CNC router. I get very excited when a piece is finished to perfection!

Where are your pieces currently available?

My jewellery is available from our SOBEIT STUDIO in Muizenberg, as well as on Hello Pretty

and at St.Siena in Kalk Bay.

Resin half moon earrings R350

If not designing what do you like to do?

Definitely spending time with my family and to read, read, read!

Resin shard necklace with glass beads R650 and disc dangle earrings R350

More of THE ENVY pieces SOBEIT

Voodoo, Baby

Individually hand crafted and unique. Available in monochrome colours and rubbish pink. Sizes: Small, Medium Large

African wrap bangles

Resin bangle tightly wrapped in gorgeous African textiles.

Prayer Beads

Delica bead necklace with sterling silver swallow and skulls.

Skedel

Anatomically accurate miniature sculls and mixed media comprising of semiprecious stone, crystal & glass Colours: White, Black, Turquoise, Rubbish pink, Dirty Blue

CREDITS: PHOTOGRAPHY: IAN REEVES PHOTOGRAPHER

MODEL: BELLA VAN VUUREN

STYLING: CATHI TREVOR

30 views0 comments
bottom of page