top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

WHIMSICAL & MAGICAL: Coucou Illustrations


coucou illustrations

BRUSH STROKES

Looking at the gentle washes of colour by 21 year old French illustrator Cecile, aka COUCOU_ILLUSTRATOR, on subjects like pugs, foxes, flowers and more really makes my heart happy. So young, fresh and talented! I'm deciding on a purchase, but can't decide which one as they are all just so lovely!

coucou illustrations

On her illustrations Cecile says, “I post my illustrations on social media under the name 'Coucou Illustrations'.'Coucou' is a French word I always use to say hi, (it is a bit childish, but I love it!). I find it kind and warm and comforting. I really wanted my illustrations to get the feeling of friendliness and happiness, so I decided to use this name. I really enjoy faded colours, simple shapes and patterns – though, once in a while, I like to let aside my watercolours and use my coloured pencils for a bolder, more colourful drawing. I also like to play with black and white drawings and add bits of colour here and there, to let some elements pop out. I like to think my drawings can sometimes look like old pictures, with these greyish colours. At least, that’s what I try to create most of the time!”

I rounded up some of the ones I really love - take a peek!

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(I love this one as a gentle reminder to take time to contemplate life and enjoy a cup of tea)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATION

(I remember we had typing as a compulsory subject in grade 9 which was so boring except for our introduction where our teacher belted out the music for IPI TOMBI as it had good rhythm to type to - how funny!)

coucou illustrations

(Say it with flowers)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(Life is a bowl of cherries... or strawberries are just as good!)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(In my head I see stars and flowers; the eternal optimist)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS
COUCOU ILLUSTRATIOINS

(Imagine this as wallpaper - nice huh!)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(Pug love!)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS
COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(What could be nicer than a fresh bowl of strawberries?)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(My favourite animal)

(Teepees remind me of summer holidays spent in Vermaaklikheid where the house overflowed with people, so a teepee was erected every holiday to accommodate the kids)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(This one reminds me of my mother's jerseys she would knit for my dad - splashes of colour woven together with intricate patterns)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(A handful of flowers)

COUCOU ILLUSTRATIONS

(How lovely are these characters! I always wanted to be a trapeze artist in a circus as it seemed so glam and thrilling, but we moved to a small town so my dreams stayed in my head)

follow her here:

48 views0 comments
bottom of page