top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

SEW MANY DAYS IN THE YEAR....


GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST

STITCH BY STITCH

Gina Niederhumer an artist and traveller started a project on the first of January 2016, documenting each day on material, a journey via needle and thread. "A stitched ritual of being present, of pinning down the highs and the lows of what happened in the world around me every single day", Gina says.

GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST
GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST

Free from any prescribed needlework technique, she gave herself permission to doodle in stitches hoping to stay focused for an entire year. " My little portable workbox accompanied me where ever I went on all my journeys, geographical ones and the silent ones in my head", she says.

GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST

"I stitched in Barrydale by the river, in airports while waiting for flights, on backseats of cars, trains while visiting family and friends in Europe and most often in Cape Town, while watching a late night movie. This resulted in a collection of 366 title images, which became my journal of my year'.

GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST

Gina is originally from Austria, has a Masters degree in Fine Arts, and can be found in her studio in Muizenberg, Cape Town.

GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST

GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST

GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST

GINA NIEDERHUMER ARTIST

Go see her work Muizenberg Festival on until 15th October For more info go to www.ginaniederhumer.com

64 views0 comments
bottom of page