top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

CONVERSATIONS: You & Me: Josie Borain


Eighties supermodel Josie Borain, one of the first models to sign a million dollar contract, is down to earth, modest and unpretentious. She became known for her Calvin Klein Campaigns shot by photographer Bruce Weber.

Josie's been up since 4 am watching the Mayweather vs McGregor fight down in the hood as she doesn't own a TV and is washing up the remnants from yesterday's farewell house party. I mixed up the dates so Ian and I arrive with breakfast goods and she rustle's up a breakfast in between supervising the kids and their friends to move dining room chairs and furniture onto the balcony; Josie's finally taken the plunge and moved house, not too far, as in next door. "Why be a single mom with three kids and own two houses? I don't want the pool and the garden and major upkeep anymore, so we are downscaling."

Black and white prints are already mounted on the walls and while Josie with Ian's help are deciding where to move the couch and table, she answers my questions I've prepared for this post. There are books and interesting items everywhere so it's hard to concentrate as her house is a treasure trove of collected items from her travels. Three coffees down and the lounge in semi order, she answers my questions in her inimitably candid and honest way:

josie borain model

WHAT CAREER WOULD YOU HAVE CHOSEN IF IT WASN'T AS A MODEL

I would have loved to have been a war photographer or a marine biologist!

IF YOU HAD TO DO IT ALL AGAIN IS THERE ANYTHING YOU WOULD CHANGE?

There's plenty I would have changed in decisions I made, but what's past is in the past

WHAT IS A MEMORY THAT STANDS OUT FROM YOUR TRAVELS?

Sitting on the Spanish steps in the evening light watching birds fly in unison with the light catching their wings - sheer beauty!

YOUR WORST HABIT?

Not charging people for the work I have done for them as a photographer

josie borain model

MOST TREASURED POSSESSIONS:

Besides my kids, my photographs and books

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR STYLE OF DRESSING?

Tees, jeans and cashmere sweaters

josie borain model

HEELS OR FLATS:

Flats

BEST BEAUTY PRODUCT;

I've been using COMPLEX15 Daily Face Cream for over twenty years as it's oil-free, unscented and hypo-allergenic; in fact I have about five tubes I keep in my fridge so that I never run out! (She does, I checked!)

Josie Borain Model

WHICH SUPER POWER WOULD YOU LOVE THE MOST?

Time travel

YOUR FAVOURITE PAST TIME?

Listening to live music especially local bands

SO, WHO ARE YOUR FAVOURITE BANDS?

Just Jinger's lead singer Ard Matthews; Jack Mantis from Jack Mantis Band; Pat from Two minute Puzzle and This is Tailor

josie borain model shot by Ian Reeves Photographer

BIGGEST EXTRAVAGANCE:

I have a Richard Avedon self-portrait

FAVOURITE FOOD:

Tomatoes

DREAM LUNCHTIME OR DINNER DATE:

Mohammed Ali

FAVOURITE MOVIE OR BOOK:

An old movie called Brazil

SOMETHING ABOUT YOU THAT FEW PEOPLE KNOW:

I'm dyslexic

To follow Josie :

577 views0 comments
bottom of page