top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

CONVERSATIONS: David Gillson


David Gillson Of Carlton Hair

You can understand why hair stylist extraordinaire David Gillson has a huge client following, as his knowledge of colour, cut and style reigns supreme! Frequenting Carlton Hair salon is always a treat – from the delicious cappuccinos and catching up on the latest magazine news to the sublime head massages and hair treatments. There’s no doubt, a visit to the salon makes for a relaxing experience.

So how does David himself like to relax and spend time? I caught up with him just before he jetted off to London today to find out what inspires this hair guru.

HOW DID YOU GET INTO THIS FIELD?

I started my career as an apprentice with Carlton Hair and then went on to work in London and Los Angeles to further my education and career.

FIVE WORDS THAT WOULD DESCRIBE YOU:

Fashion forward, fair, fun, sensitive and creative

DO YOU HAVE A CELEB/ACTRESS/ YOU WOULD LOVE TO WORK WITH AND WHY

I would have loved to have done Linda Evangelista's hair in the 90's

FAVOURITE CITY:

London

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR STYLE OF DRESSING?

Eccentric, edgy and unexpected

BEAUTY ESSENTIALS:

Comfort Zone Sublime Skin line Serum and moisturiser, Chanel Sublimage eye cream, Lush Ocean salt face scrub and Santa Maria Novella shaving foam.

BIGGEST EXTRAVAGANCE:

Shoes!!!! Saint Laurent clothes!! Basically anything at 2A in Hyde Park!!!

FAVOURITE FRAGRANCE:

Chanel Misia and Chanel 1932

WINTER OR SUMMER

Summer, but love a change in the season.

DREAM LUNCHTIME OR DINNER DATE:

I'd love to have lunch with Alessandro Michele the new designer at Gucci.

FAVOURITE MOVIE OR BOOK:

I loved The Night Porter with Charlotte Rampling, my favorite actress.

AN INSPIRING QUOTE OR A LIFE RULE:

It will have to be something by Louise Hay her work really inspire me.

'Every thought we think is creating our future'

SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY /ABOUT YOU THAT FEW PEOPLE KNOW:

I meditate regularly and can't miss my weekly Reiki season.

David Gillson

Follow David here:

331 views0 comments
bottom of page