top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

CONVERSATIONS: You & Me: Liezel van der Westhuizen


Liezel van der Westhuizen

Media celebrity Liezel van der Westhuizen has an enormous number of sports accolades to her name, she is a fierce supporter of animal rights, an adrenaline junkie and she is up for just about any challenge. Liezel now also has her own 5-6 am slot on KFM94.5. I've always admired her upbeat personality, fearless attitude and huge love of life. Did you know Liezel was the first female announcer at a Comrades Marathon and also the first woman in South Africa to model at Mercedes-Benz Menswear fashion!

Read my interview to discover more about this dynamic lady:

Liezel van der Westhuizen

FIVE WORDS THAT PORTRAY YOU:

Active, Energetic, Go-Getter, Caring and Friendly

FAVOURITE CITY:

Cape Town

SHARE YOUR STYLE OF DRESSING?

Fun and daring. I like to be creative with my looks. I love incorporating my sporty lifestyle with my daily fashion, making sporty look more glamourous. I also like to play with androgynous looks. At the moment I am going through a stage where I change my hair colour to match my outfits, so for the SunMet, I will be sporting purple hair with a 60's inspired dress designed by local designer Romanda De Bastos. At the moment I am loving the Athleisure wear designed by Langa designers, Misunderstood.

HEELS OR FLATS:

Believe it or not, I LOVE LOVE LOVE MY HEELS. I'm a fan of local shoe designer Aretha Bauwens

BEAUTY ESSENTIALS:

Tinted Sunscreen, eye cream, waterproof mascara, Nimue Multi Rejuvenating Serum, System Professional Solar Hair protection

Liezel van der Westhuizen

BIGGEST EXTRAVAGANCE:

A silver Armani dress

FAVOURITE PERFUME:

This is a struggle for me as I am still trying to find that perfect scent that suits me! Would love suggestions from your readers :)

Liezel van der Westhuizen

WINTER OR SUMMER:

Summer. I am an outdoorsy girl who loves spending time on the beach

DREAM LUNCHTIME OR DINNER DATE:

Early dinner for Beach Sunset picnic

Liezel van der Westhuizen

FAVOURITE BOOK:

Liezel van der Westhuizen

AN INSPIRING QUOTE OR A LIFE RULE: LIFE RULE

"WHAT OTHERS THINK OF ME, IS NONE OF MY BUSINESS"

BEST ADVICE SOMEONE GAVE YOU:

When I started in the entertainment industry, my dad said he was only giving me one piece of advice: "You are the girl from Pretoria who is energetic, quirky and active, don't lose the energy by trying to be someone else, just be yourself! "

Liezel van der Westhuizen

SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY ABOUT YOU THAT FEW PEOPLE KNOW:

I love afternoon naps. (Thanks to Arianna Huffington for speaking out about why naps are important!)

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:

Twitter: @liezelv

Instagram: @liezelonline

102 views0 comments
bottom of page