top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

WAXING LYRICAL: BLACKOWL Scented candles & stationary


Blackowl scented candles and stationary

It's always a treat to stumble across a brand you instantly love, which is how I felt when I saw the chic monochrome Instagram feed of BLACKOWL featuring their minimalist-themed products and scented candles.

Blackowl scented candles and stationary

Creator and owner Nicky Kotze decided to leave the frustrations of working for other people and follow her heart. Ever since she was really young she's been inspired to create things: "Making or decorating has been with me ever since I can remember. I would look at random objects and wonder how I could use or break them apart to re-make into something else".

Blackowl scented candles and stationary

Her scented candles are hand-made using cosmetic grade soy wax and 100% organic essential oils. The packaging for the candles changes from time to time with the focus on the new canvas bags being re-usable: "I'm currently working on candle bags with zips so that you can use them again as a makeup bag or a purse."

Blackowl scented candles and stationary

Gift cards, tags and notebooks also form part of the BLACKOWL range. "I always carry two notebooks with me for sketching or jotting down my ideas, so I thought it would be nice to add stationary to my line, although my main focus is still on the scented candles".

Blackowl scented candles and stationary

BLACKOWL stationary and candles
Blackowl scented candles and stationary

Find a nearby stockist for BLACKOWL candles and stationary here

Nikky Kotze creator and owner of Blackowl scented candles and stationary

46 views0 comments
bottom of page