top of page
  • Writer's picturecathi trevor

CONVERSATIONS: Janine Binneman Jewellery


JANINE BINNEMAN

PHOTO: Janine and Sir Huffington (who is famous in his own right as a TV star for Frontline!)

Professional jeweller and gemologist Janine Binneman's energy, passion and love shines through into the jewellery pieces she creates. In addition to her bespoke pieces she creates, such as engagement rings or one-of-a-kind custom pieces, once a year Janine puts together a capsule collection of ready-to-wear items.

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLERY

WHAT CAREER WOULD YOU HAVE CHOSEN IF IT WASN'T AS A JEWELLERY DESIGNER?

If I had my way I would have been on stage but I have the most terrible voice, I’m 5 foot nothing so hardly visible on a stage and I have a mouth that runs away with me.

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLERY

HOW DID YOU GET INTO THIS FIELD?

I sent my portfolio in to study Graphics and a brilliant lecturer spotted my talent for jewels and told me to study Jewellery Design; best decision ever. I would totally have dropped out if I had studied Graphics.

FIVE WORDS THAT DESCRIBE YOU:

Indescribable! Haha. Super friendly, really cool to have as a friend, mad, loyal, loving and a total adrenalin junkie. Oh, and slightly loud!

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLERY

FAVOURITE CITY:

ROMA, the centre of my universe! We took both the girls last year and it was an experience of a lifetime! Cannot wait to take them back for a few weeks in the future.

JANINE BINNEMAN

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR STYLE OF DRESSING?

Eclectic. I love a mix of modern, vintage and classic. If it looks good on me, I make it my own.

I love getting cool one-off pieces from Chic Mama’s, a great charity that sells designer pieces to fund kids' education.

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLERY

HEELS OR FLATS:

In my head I love heels! I love to buy them, stare at them and try them on. Sometimes I might actually wear them to important meetings, BUT generally I’m in my studio wearing a leather apron with black hands and either boots or my slip slops!I’ve finally stopped missioning around barefoot in the studio; being a boss made me wear shoes. Hilarious! Oh, but I always have beautiful painted toes!

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLERY

BEAUTY ESSENTIALS:

Chanel No 5 and Eclat Touche by YSL, Virgin Coconut oil as a moisturiser, my night serum and my Revlon Colour Burst Lacquer Balm, in Whimsical Fantasiste.

BIGGEST EXTRAVAGANCE:

Travelling. I would easily go without food just to travel!Oh, that sounds insensitive but you know what I mean.

JANINE BINNEMAN

FAVOURITE PERFUME:

Chanel no 5

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLER

WINTER OR SUMMER:

Summer on steroids

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLER

LUNCHTIME OR DINNER DATE:

Hot Dinner date! Having kids makes going out at night a total mission, so any excuse to dress up in a LBD and heels.

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLER

FAVOURITE MOVIE OR BOOK:

'A Man Called Ove'. I fell madly in love with the main character of this book. I finished it a month ago and not a day goes past without thinking of him. I even got my husband to read it!

I loved "Big Magic" by Elizabeth Gilbert, a fab read for anyone creative, where you can go back to it at any time. Oh, I just finished 'A Year of Marvellous Ways' which was super cool. I could go on and on and on; I’m a book fiend!

My favourite movies are 'Fried Green Tomatoes', 'The Secret life of Walter Mitty', 'The Exotic Marigold Hotel' and 'Love Actually'.

JANINE BINNEMAN JEWELLER

AN INSPIRING QUOTE OR A LIFE RULE:

My Greek Granpa used to say, "I will not empty my head to fill yours". I totally think of that when dealing with someone who sees no reason.

I live my life with three words, Trust, joy and abundance.

SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY ABOUT YOU THAT FEW PEOPLE KNOW:

I broke our junior school record for hurdles in Standard 5, and NO I did not run under them, I actually jumped.

72 views0 comments
bottom of page